Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Muskogee’s Jamarian Ficklin – 2023 Shelter Insurance Mr. Football – Presented by Shelter Insurance


TULSA, OK (January 5th, 2024) – VYPE Magazine and Shelter Insurance are proud to announce the winner of the 2023 Mr. Football Oklahoma Award is Jamarian “Byrd” Ficklin of Muskogee High School. Ficklin becomes the twelfth player to win the coveted award and the first player from Muskogee High School.

The Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma Award recognizes the outstanding athletic achievements of Jamarian Ficklin and the high standards of athletic excellence and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, which distinguishes Ficklin as Oklahoma’s best high school football player this season. Ficklin capped an historic season with the Muskogee Roughers by winning the Class 6A-II state title over Stillwater, 28-26. The win marked the tenth state football title for Muskogee. Under the leadership and guidance of head coach Travis Hill, Ficklin helped lead the team to a, 11-2 record on their way to the state title.

During the season, Ficklin threw for 3,249 yards with a completion rate of 68 percent and 32 touchdowns. Ficklin rushed for 947 yards on 137 carries with 20 touchdowns, averaging 6.9 yards per carry. For his career, Ficklin has amassed 8,492 yards passing and 91 touchdowns. Ficklin has started every game at the varsity level since his freshman season.

VYPE Magazine Publisher Austin Chadwick said of Ficklin, “Jamarian Ficklin made a team and a community proud with his leadership and run to the title of Mr. Football Oklahoma. Ficklin is the type of player you can build a program around. With multiple offers at the college level, Ficklin will certainly play at the next level. Everyone at VYPE Magazine is excited to have another great player added to the impressive list of Mr. Football Oklahoma recipients.”

Ficklin joins former Mr. Football award winners; Trey’Vonne Barre’-Jenks (2012), Kai Callins-Guthrie (2013), Mason Fine-Locust Grove (2014), Cooper Nunley-Jenks (2015), Shamari Brooks-Union (2016), Joshua Proctor-Owasso (2017), Noah Cortes-Broken Arrow (2018), Brennan Presley-Bixby (2019), Owen Ostroski-Holland Hall (2020), Braylin Presley-Bixby (2021), and Xavier Robinson (2022). Other finalists for the 2023 Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Award included: Xavier Robinson-Carl Albert, Andy Bass-Heritage Hall, Jett Calmus-Jenks, Kordell Gouldsby-Bixby, Jax Bernard-Fairview, Carson Cooksey-Blanchard, Josh Ford-Stillwater, Jaden Nickens-Millwood, Luke Milligan-Lincoln Christian, Kale Charboneau-Wagoner, Rodney Fields-Del City, Dax Collins-Poteau, Major Cantrell-Washington, and Kaden Manuel-Seiling.

The Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma Award is voted on by members of the media to include print, radio, and television across Oklahoma. Ballots are sent to more than 40 members and voting takes place over a month-long period. Voting ended on January 4 th , 2024.

Congratulations to Jamarian “Byrd” Ficklin of Muskogee High School, your 2023 Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma.

For more information on the Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Award, please contact Brad Heath at [email protected].

You May Also Like


Kreed Culver  Jay High School Some people are born to run. Kreed Culver of Jay High School could fit into that category. In the fall,...


Orion Tsosie  Jay High School  In his first season competing in track for Jay High School, Orion Tsosie is turning heads and putting in...


Krew Culver  Jay High School The Jay Bulldogs hosted their track meet in early April and the boys placed 2nd overall and continue to improve on their...


Naomi Daugherty Quapaw High School FFA Spotlight with Naomi Daugherty – Presented by Ok AgCredit Quapaw High School’s Naomi Daugherty is a multi-sport athlete...